Tel: 0800-689-1012
Email: [email protected]

Data Centre Tiers

The deification of Data Centre Tiers is a sophisticated and broad operating concept. A tiered design approach is used to classify the operation mode, performance level, and uptime of a data centre. Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, Tier 4, and Tier 5 data centres are the internationally recognised and accepted Tiers & designs topologies for categorising the data centre operation, performance, and uptime. Tier 4 data centre provides optimal operation level and is described as the most redundant, robust and less prone to failures as compared to Tier 1.

What is Data Centre for?

By definition data centre can be 1 out of 4 Tiers shared building facility to house digital communication and network devices. Due to the shared nature of data centre, digital equipment from different companies can be housed there. A standard Tiered approach is used to classify the level of operation and uptime of a data centre. Devices hosted in a data centre are generally managed remotely through telnet, shh (Secure Shell), remote desktop, or VNC applications. Data Centres are commonly designed to provide resiliency and backup for communication circuits, electric power, air conditioning, and other vital components.

The cost of the data centre is hugely dependent on the kind of Data Centre Tier you built or choose for hosting.

Tier 1 Data Centre

Tier 1 guarantees 99.671% uptime and availability. This Tier doesn’t provide resiliency for network circuits and uplinks. Tier 1 also provide non-redundant servers solutions.

Tier 2 Data Centre

Tier 2 guarantees 99.741% uptime and availability. This Tier inherits all qualities and features of Tier 1 pulse it provides resiliency and backup for network circuits and server solutions.

Tier 3 Data Centre

Tier 3 guarantees 99.982% uptime and availability. This Tier inherits all qualities and features of Tier 1 and Tier 2, plus it provides dual power and multiple uplinks and network circuits for connectivity.

Tier 4 Data Centre

Tier 4 guarantees 99.995% uptime and availability. This Tier inherits all qualities and features of Tier 1, Tier 2 and T3, plus all components are fully fault-tolerant including network circuits, servers, storage, chillers, HVAC systems etc. and is completely redundant in features and power.

Tier 5 Data Centre

Tier 5 data centres provide 30 key elements, the features are mainly focused on resiliency. Tier 5 takes the resiliency, availability and reliability to the next level.

Further readings and related topics

Data Centre Overview

Data Centre Introduction

Data Centre Operations

Data Centre Cloud Computing

Data Centre Environment

Data Centre Protection

Data Centre Cleaning

Data Centre Energy Efficiency

Data Centre Rating

Data Centre Cleaning & Server Room Cleaning

Data Centre Cleaning is an expert cleaning service for server room cleaning, comms room cleaning, and other IT equipment cleaning. Class 8 of the ISO 14644-1 standard ensures data centre,…

Read More

Comms Room Cleaning Service

At UKDCC we have designed high-quality modern comms room cleaning techniques for mission-critical equipment and environment cleaning. We have experienced technical staff who are CRB, DBS, CSCS, and SC security cleared. Our…

Read More

Server Room Cleaning | Computer Room Cleaning

Server room & computer room cleaning and decontamination service mainly focus removal of dirt and dust from the controlled environment. The deep cleaning and healthcare service helps server rooms to…

Read More

Computer Cleaning Service

Computer cleaning is a professional service, the deep cleaning procedure involves removal of dirt, dust, and germs from its parts and components. The computer cleaning service is carried out by…

Read More

Data Centre Cleaning Standard (ISO 14644-1) as well as for Server Room

The ISO 14644-1 is generally considered the data centre cleaning standard worldwide. Organizations refer to this standard to demonstrate the cleanliness level of their data centres and server rooms to…

Read More